top of page

Twin Branch Series Notes

SOUTH BEND - The New Carlisle Newts (2-1) are back in action on Sunday afternoon with a trip to face the Twin Branch Billy Goats (2-1) at The Goat House.

After sub-.500 seasons in 2021, both clubs got off to solid starts with Opening Day series victories. The Goats took two of three from the Kingsbury Knights, while the Newts defeated Mishawaka in two of three contests at Rose Park.

Despite being two of the most recognizable ORWBL franchises, this will be just the second match-up between the teams in league play. After facing off at Migley Field on Opening Day 2018, Twin Branch's first-ever league series, the squads have not crossed paths outside of a few meetings at the World Wiffleball Championship in Midlothian.

New Carlisle won the 2018 series, 5-1, 2-1, 3-4, with the wind blowing in at the Friendly Confines. In Midlothian, the Newts have taken both Sweet 16 encounters, once in 2019 and again last year on their way to the World title.

The Newts expect to be short-handed this week. Both Colton Boren and Scott Soos will be game-time decisions. Noah Shail is out as he continues to nurse an ankle injury.

Aidan Cotter (2-1) is the probable starting pitcher for the duration of the series for New Carlisle. Outside of some sixth-inning struggles, Cotter locked up the Mishawaka lineup on Opening Day. He needs just one victory to match his season win total from a year ago.


Newts won two of three against Mishawaka, 8-5, 21-8, 7-8

Twin Branch won two of three against Kingsbury, 4-0, 10-3, 15-18


Newts lead all-time, 2-1

Record at The Goat House: 0-0

Longest Streak: 2 wins (5/6/18)

Largest Margin of Victory: 4 (5/6/18)

First Meeting: May 6, 2018 at Migley Field (Newts win, 5-1)

Most Recent Meeting: May 6, 2018 at Migley Field (Twin Branch wins, 4-3)

Runs Scored: 10

Runs Allowed: 6


New Carlisle:

AVG - Garrett Curless (.600)

HR - Scott Soos (8)

RBI - Matt Soos (10)

Twin Branch:

AVG - Andrew Doran (.800)

HR - Lucas Oletti (6)

RBI - Lucas Olett (10)


  1. Garrett Curless (LF)

  2. Matt Soos (CF)

  3. Koby Keck (RF)

  4. Aidan Cotter (SP)

  5. Sean Touhey (C)

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page