top of page

Mishawaka Series Notes

Updated: Apr 29, 2022

MISHAWAKA - The New Carlisle Newts open up their 2022 Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League season on Sunday afternoon against the Mishawaka Meatspins at Rose Park.

New Carlisle looks to rebound from a fifth-place National League finish in 2021. The Newts stumbled to a 13-17 record and first round postseason exit a year ago.

On Opening Day 2021, the New Carlisle lineup belted eight consecutive home runs in a 29-20 season-opening win against the Great Lakes Godfathers. After a 6-3 road trip to begin the year, the Newts lost 10 of their next 12 games and were unable to right the ship the rest of the way.

Mishawaka finished second in the senior circuit with a 19-11 regular season record, but ultimately fell in the National League Championship Series to the eventual World Series champions Granger Panthers.

Much like this weekend's matchup, last season's meeting between the two clubs took place on the Newts' early season road trip. After dropping the series opener, New Carlisle bounced back to take the next two games of the day, capped by a 10-run effort in the seventh inning of the finale.

Last year's series was a milestone day. Scott Soos recorded his 762nd career hit to take first place on the all-time leaders list, while Garrett Curless notched his 700th. The series finale triumph represented the 500th all-time victory for the New Carlisle franchise.

The Newts will lean on both Soos and Curless to provide the offensive production this weekend, as Noah Shail will be limited with an ankle injury. Aidan Cotter will be the Opening Day starter on the mound.

First pitch is slated for 1:00 pm EDT.


Newts lead all-time, 2-1

Record at Rose Park: 2-1 ORWBL (28-11 overall)

Longest Streak: 2 wins (5/16/21 - Present)

Largest Margin of Victory: 10 (5/16/21)

First Meeting: May 16, 2021 at Rose Park (Mishawaka wins, 8-3)

Most Recent Meeting: May 16, 2021 (Newts win, 22-12)

Runs Scored: 35

Runs Allowed: 23


New Carlisle:

AVG - Scott Soos (.477)

HR - Garrett Curless (39)

RBI - Garrett Curless (51)


AVG - Ryan Warmoth (.519)

HR - Ryan Warmoth (28)

RBI - Ryan Warmoth (46)


  1. Garrett Curless (CF)

  2. Scott Soos (LF)

  3. Matt Soos (DH)

  4. Koby Keck (RF)

  5. Aidan Cotter (SP)

Sean Touhey (C)

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page