Newts fail to capitalize, lose in six

LA PORTE - For the third consecutive year, the Maple City Magic are Old Republic Wiffle®Ball League Champions.

The Magic completed their three-peat with a 13-12 victory over the New Carlisle Newts on Sunday, August 18 to win the ORWBL World Series in six games.

New Carlisle had plenty of opportunities throughout the series, but just could not capitalize in the clutch.

By splitting the first two games (9-14, 15-13) at Magic Park on Thursday, August 8, New Carlisle stole the home field advantage when the series shifted to Migley Field on Sunday, August 11.

At home, the Newts squeaked out an 11-10 win in Game 3 to take a 2-1 series lead.

Despite being within striking distance with the wind at their backs during the last at-bats, New Carlisle fell to a four-man Maple City squad in the next two games, 14-17 and 21-23.

The series moved back to Magic Park with the Newts looking to force a Game 7.

But Game 7 never came.

The two teams traded blows early in Game 6, with the score knotted up 5-5 in the third inning.

Maple City starting pitcher and leadoff hitter Caleb Jonkman went down with a leg injury and was unable to continue.

However, his brother Jared as well as teammates Jeremy Ratajczyk, Drew Luther and Shane Anderson picked up the slack to build a 13-7 Magic lead going into the sixth inning.

After two quick outs, the Newts offense finally woke up for a rally of desperation. Three straight singles loaded the bases for Zarek Finley, who blasted a grand slam to cut the deficit to two.

Ryan Galiher followed with a solo shot to get the tying run to the plate, but Anderson was able to retire Danny Hernandez to clinch the championship.

Jared Jonkman was named World Series Most Valuable Player for his performance.

Featured Stories
Recent Stories