HD Wiffleball Classic Champions

MISHAWAKA - For the first time since 2014, the New Carlisle Newts have won a tournament championship. After several near misses over the past three years, the Newts were finally able to finish the job at the 4th annual HD Wiffleball Classic at Mishawka's Rose Park on Saturday.

The tournament squad consisted of Garrett Curless, Koby Keck, Joey Schuster, Noah Shail, and Scott Soos.

New Carlisle went 2-1 in the pool play portion of the tournament, with wins over the Jet City Silver Sluggers and the Bloomfield Bombers. Despite a 3-1 loss to the Granger Panthers, the Newts were still able to grab the 7th seed in the single elimination bracket, which earned them a bye.

In the first elimination game, Curless walked off against familiar foe Clutch Players with a solo home run in the bottom of the sixth. The Newts defeated the Mechanics in the quarterfinals to set up a rematch with Granger in the semifinals. New Carlisle scored five runs in the first against the Panthers and never looked back, eliminating them by a score of 9-3.

In the championship game, the Newts faced rival Maple City for the title belt. Just as they did in their last tournament championship at Peacefest in 2014, the Newts defeated the Magic in the finals, this time by a score of 8-4.

The pool play win against the Silver Sluggers was the 400th win all-time in Newts franchise history, dating back to 2007. The HD Classic title is New Carlisle's fifth tournament championship overall.

Featured Stories
Recent Stories