RAISE THE FLAG: Newts win the pennant!

GRANGER - It wasn't easy, but the New Carlisle Newts are once again the champions of the National League. New Carlisle defeated the Granger Panthers, three games to one, in the National League Championship Series.

In a bit of gamesmanship, the Panthers moved the plate back about 30 feet from its normal location at Panther Park in preparation for New Carlisle's home run heavy lineup. The Newts were unable to adjust in Game 3, getting shut out 2-0.

New Carlisle struck first in Game 4, manufacturing a run in the top of the first. However, the lead was short lived as Granger pushed across three in the bottom half to take what felt to be a commanding lead.

In the fourth, Koby Keck doubled to score Danny Hernandez and Matt Soos and tie the game at three. The score remained tied until the ninth, with both teams unable to capitalize on scoring opportunities.

Scott Soos led off the ninth with a double and advanced to third as Granger misplayed the ball. Noah Shail then grounded out to get Soos home, and the Newts took a 4-3 lead.

Matt Soos slammed the door on Granger in the bottom of the ninth, working a perfect inning to complete 15 innings on the mound for the Newts. Soos was named NLCS MVP after the series.

New Carlisle has now reached its fifth consecutive World Series and will look to win its fourth title in the past five years. The Newts will now have played in seven of the possible ten ORWBL World Series.

The 2017 World Series will be a rematch of last year's edition, with the Newts taking on the Maple City Magic. Games 1 and 2 will be played at Magic Park on Sunday, August 6. Game 1 is slated for a 4:00pm ET start.

Featured Stories
Recent Stories