Please reload

Recent Stories

Young (and Restless) Star for Newts on Opening Day

June 1, 2020

Please reload

Featured Stories

Newts ace Serge wins another Cy Young

August 24, 2014

NEW CARLISLE - With the eighth season of the Old Republic Wiffle Ball League in the 

books, the league will recognize its top performers of this past season.  Matt Serge of the New Carlisle Newts has been named 2014 Cy Young award winner.


Already one of the most decorated players in ORWBL history with his ticket to the Hall of Fame already punched, Serge's illustrious career has taken on a second life with Newts.  This is Serge's second Cy Young award, previously winning the award in his incredible 2011 season which also saw him take home the American League's Most Valuable Player award.


Known for his two championship seasons as the leader of the South Bend Sour Wowers, Serge came to New Carlisle in 2013 and has been at the top of the Newts rotation ever since. He has now won an ORWBL record four championships.


Serge becomes the fourth Newts pitcher to win a Cy Young award.  During the regular 

season, Serge (14-2) split the duties on the mound with Garrett Curless.  His 5.42 ERA led the Newts staff and his 14 wins were tied for best in the league.  Serge was on the mound the entire postseason for the Newts, leading New Carlisle to another title.


Cult West's Jay Ryans and Scott Soos tied for second in the voting.  Ryans was limited in the regular season, but was critical to the Warriors postseason run.  Like Serge, Soos also posted a 14-2 record and was the league leader with a 4.08 ERA.


All ORWBL awards were voted on by the managers of the league.


Please reload

Please reload